Shortlist 2017

Shortlist 2017

Budget Project of the Year

  • Alice Poole Architects, Old Yard House
  • Henning Stummel Architects, The Hut
  • IF_DO, 'After Image', Dulwich Pavilion 2017
  • Paul Archer Design, Aperture House 
  • rankinfraser landscape, The Dunbar Battery​

Community and Faith Project of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Acanthus Clews Architects, Warwick Hall Community Centre
  • Ayre Chamberlain Gaunt, The Point
  • Flanagan Lawrence, Live Works
  • Spheron Architects, Belarusian Memorial Chapel
  • Sprunt Architects, St Peter’s Stonegrove 
  • Walters & Cohen Architects, Vajrasana Buddhist Retreat Centre
  • Waugh Thistleton Architects, Bushey Cemetery

Cultural Project of the Year

  • AL_A, Victoria & Albert Museum
  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Liverpool's Royal Court
  • BDP, Oldham Town Hall
  • Haworth Tompkins, The Bush Theatre
  • Purcell Making History at St Fagans, Main Building Redevelopment
  • Zaha Hadid Architects, Mathematics: The Winton Gallery

Health and Wellbeing Project of the Year

  • alma-nac, The London Animal Hospital
  • Architype, St Michael’s Hospice
  • Foster + Partners, Maggie's at the Robert Parfett Building
  • Hoskins Architects, Eastwood Health and Care Centre
  • MawsonKerr Architects, Sunbeams Music Centre
  • The Manser Practice, NGS Macmillan Unit 
  • TODD Architects, with Hall Black Douglas, Omagh Hospital & Primary Care Complex

Heritage Project of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Acanthus Clews Architects, Warwick Hall Community Centre
  • BDP, Oldham Town Hall
  • Benedetti Architects, Lamb's Conduit Street
  • Dow Jones Architects, Garden Museum
  • Gianni Botsford Architects, The Layered Gallery
  • Quinn Architects, Former Nichol Street Infants School, Club Row
  • ÜberRaum Architects, German Embassy Residence

Higher Education Project of the Year

  • Berman Guedes Stretton Architects, Alan Walters Building
  • Haverstock, Alexandra Centre
  • Henley Halebrown, Chadwick Hall
  • Penoyre & Prasad, Sibson Building, University of Kent
  • Sheppard Robson, New Science Building, University of Hertfordshire
  • tp bennett and Maccreanor Lavington, Garden Halls 

House of the Year

  • 31/44 Architects, Red House
  • Carmody Groarke, Highgate House
  • Chance de Silva, Vex
  • Coffey Architects, Hidden House
  • Henning Stummel Architects, Tin House
  • James Macdonald Wright & Niall Maxwell, Caring Wood
  • Lisa Shell Architects with Marcus, Taylor Redshank
  • Madoc Architecture, House in north London
  • Tectonics Architects, 32a Lansdowne Drive

Housing Project of the Year

  • Bell Phillips Architects, Bracelet Close 
  • Bell Phillips Architects, The Echoes 
  • Hamson Barron Smith, Carrowbreck Meadow
  • Haworth Tompkins, Silchester
  • Karakusevic Carson Architects with MaccreanorLavington, Dujardin Mews
  • Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands, Paradise Gardens
  • Peter Barber Architects, Hafer Road
  • Pollard Thomas Edwards, New Ground Cohousing
  • Proctor and Matthews Architects, Chapter House 

Infrastructure Project of the Year

  • Moxon Architects, Somers Town Bridge
  • SimpsonHaugh & Partners, Deansgate-Castlefield Metrolink Stop
  • Structura UK, West Croydon Bus Station
  • Weston Williamson + Partners, Pudding Mill Lane DLR Station

Interior Design of the Year

  • Andy Martin Architecture, Perf House
  • Carl Trenfield Architects, Dartmouth Row
  • Grimshaw, YOOX NET-A-PORTER-GROUP Tech Hub 
  • Jestico + Whiles, Shilling Brewing Co'
  • Paper House Project, Defoe Road

Landscape Project of the Year


  • BDP with Wolfgang Buttress, The Hive at Kew Gardens
  • Gustafson Porter + Bowman, New Ludgate
  • HarrisonStevens, Holyrood North 
  • Untitled Practice, Lesnes to Crossness

Leisure Project of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Acme, Watermark Westquay
  • BDP, Boxpark
  • Blee Halligan Architects, Five Acre Barn Bed + Breakfast
  • Glenn Howells Architects, STIHL Treetop Walkway
  • Marks Barfield Architects, British Airways i360
  • Populous, Lord's Warner Stand



Masterplan of the Year

  • AECOM, North West Cambridge Development
  • C.F. Møller with Pollard Thomas Edwards, The Laindon Centre
  • Karakusevic Carson Architects, Meridian Water Masterplan
  • Mae, Grahame Park Estate Regeneration

Mixed-use Project of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Acme, Victoria Gate
  • Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands and Sheppard Robson, Fitzroy Place
  • Rock Townsend & Stockwool, Holy Trinity Primary School
  • Ryder Architecture, Wick Community Campus
  • Stanton Williams, The Mailbox​



Public Building of the Year

Sponsored by

  • CZWG Architects, The Curve
  • FaulknerBrowns Architects, The Word
  • Glenn Howells Architects, Remembrance Centre
  • Purcell, Aerospace Bristol
  • Reiach and Hall Architects, Nucleus, the Nuclear & Caithness Archives

Refurb of the Year

  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, One King William Street
  • Checa Romero Architects, The Grim House
  • Duggan Morris Architects, The Loom
  • Flanagan Lawrence, 234 Bath Road
  • Giles Pike Architects, Murray Road
  • Nicholas Hare Architects, The David Attenborough Building
  • TODD Architects, Main Site Tower and Peter Froggatt Centre Refurbishment, Queen’s University Belfast

School Project of the Year

  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Alconbury Weald Primary School
  • Atkins, Harraby Community Campus
  • BDP, Smythe Library, Tonbridge School
  • Grimshaw, The Laboratory at Dulwich College
  • Haverstock, Moreland Primary School
  • jmarchitects, James Gillespie's Campus
  • LSI Architects with Innes Associates, Brent Knoll School
  • Squire & Partners and Stockwool, Kensington Primary Academy
  • tp bennett, Amesbury School

Sustainable Project of the Year

Sponsored by

  • CF Møller Architects, Greenwich Peninsula Low Carbon Energy Centre
  • Fairhursts Design Group, GlaxoSmithKline Carbon-Neutral Laboratories for Sustainable Chemistry
  • Jestico + Whiles, House 19
  • Studio Partington, Derwenthorpe Phase One
  • Waugh Thistleton Architects, Dalston Lane​

Tall Building of the Year

  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Ruskin Square
  • Fletcher Priest Architects, Angel Court
  • Hodder + Partners, Cambridge Street
  • Squire & Partners and SOM, Lexicon

Workplace of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Google Pancras Square
  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, New Scotland Yard
  • DSDHA, Alex Monroe Jewellery Workshop
  • Emrys Architects, Thirty Broadwick
  • Make Architects, St James's Market
  • PLP Architecture, Sky Central
  • Studio Seilern Architects, Ansdell Street



By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept